Drama League Awards

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatrical awards chosen by the ENTIRE theatre community – specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and off-Broadway productions.  The membership includes award-winning actors, designers, directors, playwrights, producers, industry veterans, critics and dedicated audiences from across the nation.

At the height of the theatrical season each May, The Drama League Awards are presented in a star-studded luncheon ceremony. Lauded as “a wonderful, notoriously swanky affair” by Playbill and as “the best party on Broadway” by John Lithgow, the Awards Luncheon is considered by many to be the most intimate and friendly event of the awards season.

The Drama League presents five competitive awards: Outstanding Production of a Play, Outstanding Production of a Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the Distinguished Performance Award. For a list of previous winners, click here.  Additionally, The Drama League honored three outstanding theatre luminaries at this year’s ceremony. The 2015 recipients were as follows: Tony® and Academy® Award winner, Joel Grey (Cabaret, ChicagoWicked) received the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award; WNET: Neal Shapiro and David Horn received the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award; and Tony® Award-winner Stephen Daldry (The Audience, SkylightBilly Elliot) received The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

The 82nd Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony will be held held on Friday, May 20, 2016 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in New York City beginning at 11:30am. Tickets will be available on February 1st, 2016.

A month-long celebration begins with the 2015 eligibility cut-off date on Sunday, April 17, 2016, followed by the Nominee Announcement on Tuesday morning, April 19, 2016 for Outstanding Play, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the much-coveted Distinguished Performance Award. 

For questions about the event, please call (212) 244-9494.