April 25, 2016 / Welcome to the Class of 2016!


We are thrilled to announce the 2016 Directing Fellows of the Drama League Directors Project. The eleven recipients, who were selected from hundreds of applicants, will spend the next year as part of the award-winning program. They have been accepted into four different programs of study: the New York Directing Program, the Hangar Directing Program (a partnership with the Hangar Theatre in Ithaca, NY), the Classical Directing Program (a partnership with the Old Globe of San Diego, CA; the Hudson Valley Shakespeare Festival of Garrison, NY; and Shakespeare & Company in Lenox, MA) and the Leo Shull New Musicals Fellowship.

These eleven extraordinary emerging stage directors are; Noa Egozi, Drew Feldman, Sara Holdren, Candis Jones, Yavor Kostov, Katie Lupica, James Palmer, Jesca Prudencio, Ilana Ransom Toeplitz, Chloe Treat and Shaun Tubbs.

Since its founding in 1984, The Drama League Directors Project has become the preeminent development program for theatre directors — providing talented young artists with career-changing experiences in the professional theatre.

Congratulations to our new Directing Fellows! Soon you'll starting hearing from the Fellows themselves as they add posts to our Directors Project blog, offering insights into what they're learning during their programs. 

More information about the directors can be found on our Fellowships page.