Special Awards Recipients Announced

March 21, 2016 / For the 2016 Annual Drama League Awards


First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatrical awards chosen by the ENTIRE theatre community – specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and off-Broadway productions. The membership includes award-winning actors, designers, directors, playwrights, producers, industry veterans, critics and dedicated audiences from across the nation.

The Drama League recently announced the 2016 recipients for Distinguished Contributions and Achievements in the Theatre, as follows: Deaf West Theatre (David J. Kurs, Artistic Director) will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award; Tony®, Grammy®, and Pulitzer Prize winner Sheldon Harnick will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award; and Olivier® Award winner Ivo van Hove will receive The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing

The Drama League presents five competitive awards: Outstanding Production of a Play, Outstanding Production of a Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the Distinguished Performance Award. For a list of previous winners, click here

The 82nd Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony will be held held on Friday, May 20, 2016 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in New York City beginning at 11:30am. Tables and tickets are now on sale. CLICK HERE FOR TABLE AND TICKET PURCHASES.

National Life Group is the proud Centennial Season Sponsor of The Drama League. The Drama League Awards Sponsors include MAC Cosmetics, the Official Make-Up Partner of The Drama League. We gratefully thank them for their support. 

For questions about the event, please call (212) 244-9494, Ext. 101.