March 18, 2014 / Barbara Cook, John Tiffany and Key Brand Entertainment/Broadway Across America


The Drama League will honor three theatre luminaries at this year's 80th Annual Drama League Awards set for Friday afternoon, May 16, 2014 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square (1535 Broadway).

Kennedy Center Honoree, Tony, and Grammy Award nominee, Barbara Cook will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award in recognition of her contribution to the musical theatre; Key Brand Entertainment/Broadway Across America: John Gore will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award for their vital work of bringing New York productions to theaters across America; and Tony, Drama Desk and OBIE Award-winner John Tiffany will receive The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

These Special Recognition Honors are in addition to the five competitive categories. The 2014 Drama League Nominees for Distinguished Production of a Play, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Production of a Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the much coveted Distinguished Performance Award will be announced on Wednesday, April 23, 2014 at 11:00 a.m. at Sardi's and will be streamed live online at BroadwayWorld.com.

The 80th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon includes a nominees cocktail reception, luncheon, and awards presentation and will be held at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in the Broadway Ballroom (1535 Broadway) on Friday, May 16, 2014 beginning at 11:30am. Click here for tickets.